The Old Testament consists of many distinct books by various authors produced over a period of centuries. Christians traditionally divide the Old Testament into four sections: 

(1) The first five books or Pentateuch (Torah)

(2) The history books telling the history of the Israelites, from their conquest of Canaan to their defeat and exile in Babylon

(3) The poetic and “Wisdom books” dealing, in various forms, with questions of good and evil in the world

(4) the books of the biblical prophets, warning of the consequences of turning away from God